JAMILLA OKUBO TIMELESS PRINTS, COLORS, AND STORIES

tumblr_n0ql2ymCMh1r9h6jqo1_500
photo cred. vivaillajams.tumblr.com: photo taken by karen colon

Jamilla Okubo is currently studying at the university of Parsons for design.  She is a model for many inspiring young artists, because she is one of the few who are out there really “doing it”.  With whatever she may get her hands on, whether it may be a dress, textile, or a painting she sees to it that it is perfected in such a way that her viewers automatically fall in love.  Jamilla stands out of a crowd of artist, because of her uses of bright colors, and timeless prints that tells her story, and the stories that have been reflected around her.  Although she may be busy with school, and her artwork she took time out her day to share a moment with us.

THE LOVELYFOOTPRINTS: When did you begin to draw?

JAMILLA OKUBO: I began drawing in elementary school. Art was literally my only favorite subject all throughout elementary, middle, and high school. But I realized that I wanted to take art seriously after my 6th grade graduation. And then once I started attending the Duke Ellington School of the Arts (high school) I began to find my aesthetic and myself as an artist. 

 LFP: Your paintings and prints have very distinct colors. What is the inspiration behind your pieces?

tumblr_n5gyvxoMfv1qaxacfo1_1280
photo cred. vivaillajams.tumblr.com

J.O: Yes at the time of creating my recent series I only had a minimal supply of paint so I worked with what I had, but I really love working with bright and funky colors. I am really inspired by culture, not only the culture of the African Diaspora but also how various cultures such as Asian and Latin cultures uses color and create such beautiful and versatile prints/textile works. I am very inspired by the history and culture of the African Diaspora and the recent increase in black models in Fashion photography as well as on the runway. I am obsessed with fashion photography with black models because they look so damn good. It makes me feel great to know that we are finally being represented in the Fashion industry. 

LFP:  When you begin a textile, or a painting what is going through your mind?

J.O: Well, usually I have a reference image for my painting and it’s like creating an entire look. I look for images with exaggerating poses and interesting forms of clothing. The first thing that goes through my mind is what patterns will I use to fit my vision, and then how will I pair the colors that I have with the patterns. When I create patterns I usually have a theme in mind and sometimes a color palette in mind. Then I start with either one or a few objects that will be repeated and I just play around with the placement of the object/s. 

LFP: Whose stories are being told through your work?

J.O: My story: the women in my family stories, and my ancestors’ stories. My work also tells the stories of women and men of the African Diaspora.

 LFP: When someone views your work, what’s the first thing you’d like to hear?

J.O: I always like to hear that my work has created an impact on someone or that a person can relate to my work and feel a certain way. For me, it’s not really about the first thing that I like to hear, but I most certainly hope that my work gives my audience positive vibes. 

LFP:  Do you have any future plans coming up, and what should we be on the look out for?

J.O: My current plans are to graduate from Parsons. I am currently struggling with financial aid and paying for my last year here so I just really hope to graduate. And I am currently working on my senior thesis project which is something to look out for by May. :D.  Oh, and also I currently have prints of my artwork from my recent series for sale here: http://aadatart.com/product-category/art-prints/jamilla-okubo/ for $15 

Leave a comment